huntington beach pier

Surfing Walk of Fame July 30, 2015

Surfing Walk of Fame Inducts Surfers July 30, 2015
10 a.m. FREE

Luncheon following ceremony $40

The Surfing Walk of Fame
10 a.m. in front of Jacks Surfboards.

The annual ceremony to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to the sport and culture of surfing takes place in front of Jack's Surfboards (PCH and Main).

Surfing Walk of Fame Induction Luncheon after the induction on Thursday includes some honorees from the past 20 years. A Gala Luncheon is held in a huge tent at the Pier Plaza Pavilion . The SWoF Induction Luncheon catered by the Duke's Huntington Beach is only $40 person, limited seating.

Jacks Surfboards

101 Main Street
Huntington Beach, CA

Surf Champions 2015 Reno Abellira
Must have held World Championship and/or World Class events titles specific to the City of Huntington Beach.

Surf Pioneer 2015 Paul Strauch
Based on achieved surfing fame as respected surfers or pioneers in the time before major championships; candidates must have reached the age of fifty years old or are deceased.

Woman of the Year 2015 Sofia Mulanovich
Female who achieved the most votes collectively from the following categories of Surfing Champions, Surfing Culture, Surf Pioneers, or Local Heroes.

Surf Culture 2015 Dick Graham
Nominated from the arts and/or administration field and must have helped create a define surfing culture. Categories: Fashion, Art, Music, Equipment, Literature, Film Administration, Photography, and Acting. Out of these areas one person with the most votes is entered in the Walk of Fame each year.

Local Hero 2015 John Boozer
Either resided 10 years in Huntington Beach or graduated from the Huntington Union School district and were finalists in championships in category Surfing Champions, contributed to Huntington Surfing Culture, were Surf Pioneers in the City, or were champions of the annual Huntington City Championships.

Honor Roll 2015 David Nuuhiwa Sr.
The Honor Roll was created to honor those individuals who have contributed to surfing and it's culture and are deserving of recognition, but might not qualify to receive a stone on the Walk of Fame. Honor Roll recipients are selected by the Surfing Walk of Fame Board of Directors.

Past Inductees 2013

  • SURF PIONEERS: Donald Takayama. Donald Takayama was considered the first professional surfer, and was known for his technique in the shaping room. Hawaiian by birth, Takayama moved to California at the age of 12 to work under Dale Velzy. He died in 2012.
  • SURF CHAMPION: Taylor Knox. Taylor Knox 2013 Surfing Champion is a renowned power surfer, retired from full-time ASP competition in 2012 after one of the longest stints on tour in history - 19 years. His banner year was in 2001, when Knox finished fourth in the ASP ratings. He resides in Carlsbad.
  • LOCAL HERO: Roy Crump
  • SURFING CULTURE: Jack McCoy. Legendary filmmaker Jack McCoy is known for producing high-quality surf movies: Tubular Swells (1976), Bunyip Dreaming (1990), The Green Iguana (1992), The Sons of Fun (1993), The Occumentary (1998), Sabotaj (1998), Blue Horizon (2004), Free as a Dog (2006) and A Deeper Shade of Blue (2012), among others.
  • WOMEN OF THE YEAR: Sharron Weber and Keala Kennelly. Weber was a World Champion throughout the late 1960s and early 1970s. Kennelly has been an internationally-known big-wave surfer since retiring from full-time ASP competition in 2007.
  • HONOR ROLL: Father Christian Mondor.

Not to be confused with Surfers' Hall of Fame held at the US Open of Surfing each year!

Subscribe to California newsletter!